Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

University of Exeter at COP27 climate talks

Published 7th November 2022

A wide range of University of Exeter research and projects will feature at the COP27 climate talks in Egypt.

Several Exeter researchers will attend the summit, while many more will join events online.

Exeter research – including contributions to key reports by the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) – will help to inform the COP27 discussions.

With time running out to limit global warming and avoid the worst impacts of climate change, the talks are a vital moment for the future of our planet.

COP27 events featuring University of Exeter staff are:

  • November 8: Overshoot and what it means to exceed 1.5°C. Hosted by the IPCC, this event will feature Professor Richard Betts MBE, from the University of Exeter and the Met Office. Science Pavilion, 18:00 Egypt time (16:00 GMT)
  • November 10 and 11: “The Earth Turns”. A drama production adapted from “We Still Have a Chance: 12 Climate Stories for 12 Days of COP27”, co-created by scientists, health professionals and artists in the UK and Egypt. Room 4 of the UN Blue Zone (10 November at 14:30 Egypt time/12:30 GMT) and the Peace Pavilion amphitheatre of the Green Zone (11 November at 17:00 Egypt time/15:00 GMT)
  • November 11: Global Carbon Budget 2022 Launch, UN Press Conference. The Global Carbon Project will reveal the latest trends in carbon emissions, and the ramifications for reaching our climate goals. Press Conference Room, Luxor Taba Area, 09:00 Egypt time (07:00 GMT)
  • November 11: 2022 Global Carbon Project Carbon Budget, Scaling Solutions, and the Role of Agriculture. In the midst of a global food crisis and ongoing deforestation, this event will highlight cutting-edge research and solutions for food and agricultural systems. Room Osiris, 16:45 Egypt time (14:45 GMT)
  • November 12: 2022 Global Carbon Budget: Results & Implications for Rainforest Nations & the Paris Agreement. Coalition for Rainforest Nations (CfRN) Pavilion, 11:00 Egypt time (09:00 GMT)
  • November 12: IPCC AR6 conclusions on water security and launch of the Expanded Water Tracker for National Climate Planning. At this event, a new global partnership will set out how every country can prepare for water security issues such as droughts and floods. Room Hatshepsut, 16:45 Egypt time (14:45 GMT)
  • November 13: Global Carbon Budget 2022: Announcement Session at the World Climate Summit. Professor Pierre Friedlingstein, from Exeter’s Global Systems Institute, who leads the Global Carbon Budget, will discuss this year’s findings. Park Regency, Sharm El-Sheikh, 16:00 Egypt time (14:00 GMT)

Professor Lisa Roberts, Vice Chancellor of the University of Exeter, said: “Our colleagues at COP27 range from climate scientists to storytellers, reflecting the breadth of our research strengths, and the range of skills and perspectives that must come together to tackle the climate and environment emergency.

“The University of Exeter has brought together more than 1,400 researchers in the area of environment and climate and, working closely with partners in the UK and around the world, we are leading meaningful action in this crucial decade for our planet.

“Exeter’s research in multiple fields will help to inform discussions at COP27, and we hope world leaders will agree to take the urgent action that is now required.”

To find out more about the University’s work at COP27 and all aspects of the climate and environment, visit the Green Futures website: https://greenfutures.exeter.ac.uk/